How do I obtain a Burn Permit?
Burn Permits/Burn Ban
Burn permits in the unincorporated areas of Walker County are issued through the Georgia Forestry Commission (GFC). The GFC may be contacted via phone at 1-877-OK2-BURN (877-652-2876). Follow the voice prompts and once complete, a permit number will be issued. Be certain to document this number in case it is requested from you. A burn permit may also be obtained from the GFC website online at http://www.gfc.state.ga.us/online-permits/index.cfm. Again, be certain to document the permit number because you may be required to supply this information. Burn permits for inside the city limits of Lafayette, Rossville, Chickamauga, and Lookout Mountain are issued by that city.
Do I need to contact the local fire department when burning?
A phone call to the local fire department is not necessary.
How much does a burn permit cost?
There is no charge for a burn permit
What can I burn?
Only Natural vegetation is permitted to be burned (leaves, limbs and brush).
How much natural vegetation can I burn at one time?
No more than one pile 60 feet by 60 feet, or equivalent, may be burned within a 9-acre area at one time. The location of the burning must be at least 1,000 feet from any occupied structure, or lesser distance if approved by the Division.
What is illegal to burn?
It is unlawful to burn man made materials such as tires, shingles, plastics, lumber, household garbage, etc. Permits are issued only for natural vegetative materials. No Large Burns. No land clearing permits will be issued without an Air Curtain Destructor in place per EPD rules.
What is an Air Curtain Destructor and what is it for?
The Open Burning Rules require anyone burning vegetative material for the purpose of land clearing to use an Air Curtain Destructor (ACD). An ACD is a forced air pit incinerator that generates a barrier of air (or “air curtain)” over a fire, when activated over a fire pit. The ACD limits the amount of smoke released into the air during the burning process. The curtain of air traps the smoke and forces it back into the hot burning fire instead of out into the atmosphere. The smoke is then re-burned until most of it is gone. This makes a much cleaner burn, emitting considerably less smoke and pollution.
What time can I burn?
No Burning after 6 PM. The fire must be completely extinguished, using water or by covering with dirt, at least one hour before sunset.
Is there anywhere in Walker County that I am not allowed to burn?
No Burning permit will be issued inside the city limits of Lafayette, Rossville, Chickamauga or Lookout Mountain by the GFC. These cities issue their own burn permits. If you live inside one of the cities, contact them directly.
Do I need to stay and watch the fire?
Yes. A fire, no matter how small, should never be left unattended. According to Georgia law, you must stay and watch the fire and have an extinguishing device readily available in the event that the fire begins to spread and become out of control.
Do I need a burn permit for a campfire?
No, it is not necessary to obtain a burn permit for a campfire. Any campfire, barbeque, or other cooking fire should be no larger than a two (2) foot by two (2) foot area.
What are the alternatives to burning?
Compost: Process of decomposing materials to create fertilizer and soil amendment.
Chip/Shred/Grind: Repurposing limps, stumps, and branches into mulch for walking paths, plant root insulation, and erosion control.
Dispose: Haul of debris to an inert landfill, construction and demolition landfill, or a commercial processing operation site. Walker county landfill is permitted as a construction and demolition landfill.
When does the burn ban begin and end?
No Open Burning will be allowed in Walker County May 1st to Oct 1st PER EPD with the exception of:
*Agricultural burning exemptions
*Forestry “prescribed burning”
*Firefighting training exemptions
*Operation of open flame equipment exemption.
Are there penalties for burning during the burn ban?
Yes. Failure to adhere to the burn ban during the months of May through September will result in fines ranging from three hundred ($300) to three thousand ($3,000) dollars.
What is the purpose of the burn ban and why is it important?
Open burning is banned during “Smog Season” which is from May through September. These months are the hottest and sunniest times of the year. During this time, the sun can intensify the creation of smog which in turn causes the smoke to stay low creating a greater concern for health and safety.
What is smog?
Smog builds when summertime sunlight "cooks" everyday emissions from motor vehicles, industry, paints, solvents and gasoline fumes. When the pollutants react with the summertime sunlight, they form ground-level ozone, the main component in smog. Smog can inflame breathing passages, decrease the lungs' working capacity, cause shortness of breath, pain when inhaling deeply, wheezing, and coughing. It can cause eye and nose irritation and it dries out the protective membranes of the nose and throat and interferes with the body's ability to fight infection, increasing susceptibility to illness. Hospital admissions and respiratory deaths often increase during periods when ozone levels are high.
If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact Walker County Emergency Services Headquarters at (706)539-1255 or firstname.lastname@example.org